Results – TFE presents Primal: Mottershead tops Willyard in main event

Results - TFE presents Primal

Results – TFE presents Primal

At TFE presents Primal James Mottershead (16-14) squared off against Nikk Willyard (4-7) for the promotion’s amateur featherweight title. It was one of five championships on the line. A staple in the mixed martial arts community, Mottershead entered the cage for the thirtieth time.

It didn’t take the veteran long to secure his sixteenth and add another title to his growing collection. Just a little over two minutes into the opening round, Mottershead secured the rear-naked choke that forced Willyard to tap out. Watch the video from the fight below.

In the co-main event, Damien Black (2-0) stopped Craig Deighton (0-0) in the opening minute to capture the promotion’s currently vacant heavyweight title.

The super-heavyweight title was also up for grabs as Shane Edmond (4-0) remains undefeated after stopping Jeremy Peevler (1-1)in just twenty seconds into the fight.

In the bantamweight division, Cody Schieve (6-8) finished his opponent Aaron Ravellette (3-3) in the early moments of the second round. With the win, Schieve earned his second amateur title. It also put the 22-year-old back into the win column. Excited about the win Schieve headed over to the BluegrassMMA Facebook Page and left the following comment, “I got it done bluegrass!”

On Saturday just four months removed from winning the lightweight championship, Jonathan Griffin (8-4) successfully defended his lightweight title submitting his opponent Mick Merkel (0-3).

Halfway through the opening round, Griffin was able to secure a rear-naked choke to finish Merkel. The finish was notable as earlier in evening his significant other, and fellow combatant, Amber Blevins used the same submission to finish her fight.

Check out the full results from the event below.

Results – TFE presents Primal

Levi Riggle (0-0) vs. Bobby Clark (0-0)
Winner: Bobby Clark by Unanimous Decision

han McQueen (1-4) vs. Darrin Gaines (5-3)
Winner: Ethan McQueen by TKO (strikes), 2:47 of Rd 1

Malik Lawrence (0-0) vs. Justin Abbott (0-0)
Winner: Malik Lawrence by TKO (strikes), 1:34 of Rd 1

Eddie Cox (0-0) vs. Jesse Cummings (0-0)
Winner: Eddie Cox by Submission (guillotine), 0:25 of Rd 1

Lacey Hancock (0-1) vs. Amber Blevins (0-0)
Winner: Amber Blevins by Submission (rear-naked choke), 0:39 of Rd 1

Jimmy Harness (1-0) vs. Ricky Jones (0-2)
Winner: N/A – Fight Scrapped

Caleb Sutton (1-0) vs. Cody Cox (0-2)
Winner: N/A – Fight Scrapped

Trey Waterman (1-0) vs. Dustyn Clark (0-1)
Winner: Trey Waterman by KO, 0:30 of Rd 1

Phil Waggoner (4-2) vs. John Luttrell (1-11)
Winner: Phil Waggoner by Submission (guillotine), 0:10 of Rd 1

Jonathan Griffin (7-4) vs. Mick Merkel (0-2) – Lightweight Title
Winner: Jonathan Griffin by Submission (rear-naked choke), 1:34 of Rd 1

Aaron Ravellette (3-2) vs. Cody Schieve (5-8) – Bantamweight Title
Winner: Cody Schieve by TKO (strikes), 0:27 of Rd 2

Shane Edmond (3-0) vs. Jeremy Peevler (1-0) – Super Heavyweight Title
Winner: Shane Edmond by TKO (strikes), 0:20 of Rd 1

Damien Black (2-0) vs. Craig Deighton (0-0) – Heavyweight Title
Winner: Damien Black, by TKO (strikes), 0:50 of Rd 1

James Mottershead (15-14) vs. (4-6) Nikk Willyard – Featherweight Title
Winner: James Mottershead by Submission (rear-naked choke), 2:15 of Rd 1

Photo courtesy of Tru-Form Entertainment. View the rest of the event’s photos here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.