Results – New League Fights: Battle Ground

Results - New League Fights: Battle Ground

Results – New League Fights: Battle Ground

Tonight, New League Fights returns to the Quality Inn & Suites in Holiday City, Ohio with an all-amateur event. The show will feature 10 bouts with flyweight main event between Milo Roberts (7-3) and Brian Burk (3-1).

In the new main event, Milo Roberts will step in to face Brian Burk in a flyweight bout. Burk has gone through multiple opponents for this bout, as Roberts is replacing Tony Kirksey. The former collegiate wrestler will have his hands full with Roberts, however. The veteran returned from an extended layoff in April, as he earned a decision win over Jon Morgan. Overall, Roberts is riding a four-fight winning streak.

Burk is riding a three-fight winning streak of his own. After dropping his debut bout, he’s bounced back with a trio of wins this year. In January, he submitted Gabe Ross in the first round at New League Fights: Breaking Ground. He followed up that win with two more, including his most recent outing at Warrior Nation Fight Series 36 in March, where he submitted Paul Marino.

In the new co-main event, Joe Garcia (5-4) will step in to face Zach Jimenez (2-1). Jimenez was originally slated to face Cody Kelley, but that bout fell through. In steps Garcia, who also last competed at WNFS 36, where he submitted Daniel Kuieck in the third round. The BJJ purple belt has earned all five of his wins via submission.

Jimenez started off his career with two quick stoppage wins, submitting Max Hulbert and Levi Cliffton via rear naked choke in the first two New League Fights events earlier this year. He’s looking to rebound from a loss in his last outing however, as he was submitted by Chris Minor in May.

You can watch the event live on by clicking here. Otherwise, scroll down to see the results.

Results – New League Fights: Battle Ground

Fight 1
Bret Jones (0-1) vs Galen Short (0-0) – Flyweight
Winner: Galen Short def. Bret Jones by Submission (rear-naked choke), 2:16 of Round 1

Fight 2
Nicklas Stoddard (0-1) vs John Wayne (0-0) – Bantamweight
Winner: Scratched

Fight 3
Ben Bultemeier (0-0) vs Gavin Saul (0-0) – Middleweight
Winner: Ben Bultemeier def. Gavin Saul by TKO (strikes), 1:11 of Round 2

Fight 4
Brandon Leininger (1-5) vs Gabe Ross (1-2) – Bantamweight
Winner: Brandon Leininger def. Gabe Ross by Submission (rear-naked choke), 1:07 of Round 1

Fight 5
Jake Bowman (0-0) vs Russell Gaines (0-0) – Welterweight
Winner: Jake Bowman def. Russell Gaines by Submission (rear-naked choke), 1:49 of Round 2

Fight 6
Tim Yockey (0-0) vs Adam Singer (0-0) – Featherweight
Winner: Tim Yockey def. Adam Singer by Submission (rear-naked choke), 1:51 of Round 1

Fight 7
Kyle Egolf (0-0) vs Raven Phouthavanh (1-0) – Bantamweight
Winner: Kyle Egolf def. Raven Phouthavanh by TKO (strikes), 2:02 of Round 2

Fight 8
Houston Collins (1-1) vs Juan Montalvo (2-1) – Heavyweight
Winner: Juan Montalvo def. Houston Collins by TKO (unable to answer bell), 3:00 of Round 1

Fight 9
Joe Garcia (5-4) vs Zach Jimenez (2-1) – Heavyweight
Winner: Joe Garcia def. Zach Jimenez by TKO (injury), 1:20 of Round 1

Fight 10
Milo Roberts (7-3) vs Brian Burk (3-1) – Flyweight
Winner: Brian Burk def. Milo Roberts by Split Decision (29-28B, 29-28R, 29-28B)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *